mjs

Make
Ford
Model
Ranger
Year
Miles
Engine
1988 Ranger 2.9 auto... Stalls going down road. Does not start immediately. Takes at least 30 to 45 seconds before she starts back up. any ideas???? thank you all.

jd

I'm not a pro mechanic, just an old DIY and avid reader at BAT and other forums.
1. The Ignition Control Module/ICM, side mounted on the Distributor, is a Thick Film Integrated Circuit/TFI component. Ford made most of their OEM TFI ICM's and turned to Motorola to provide the rest. Many of Ford's TFI's failed, most of Motorola's did not. I know this happened because I know Motorola's engineer, but I don't know the timing of it. Specifically, if 88 Ranger 2.9 fell in the recall group where Ford put Motorola on everybody's vehicle. If your TFI says "FORD" on it and you don't know if it's been replaced, I think Risk $20 against Reward Fixed is worth it. Screws are recessed and access is tight so you might need a tool. It's called 7/32" but I think I ground a 5.5mm down to thin to get in there. Some were also TORX T2.
2. Slim probability but it happened to me: There's an Air Intake Charge Sensor (AIC, ATS, ACTS) which is a Thermistor. If it fails OPEN, which ours did, car suddenly thinks it's in Fairbanks in Winter and dumps such a rich mixture the engine will "flood" and quit. Symptom is Big Black Cloud. If it fails Shorted, car thinks it's in Death Valley Summer at Noon and mixture goes max lean. An engine that isn't warmed up will probably quit.

grcauto

What's missing when it stalls? Check for spark. Squirt a little carb cleaner in and see if it kicks. Need to know what system is failing.

jd

What's missing when it stalls? Check for spark. Squirt a little carb cleaner in and see if it kicks. Need to know what system is failing.