2004 F150 no cruise control and daughter is not happy.

Make
Ford
Model
F150 (not Heritage)
Year
Miles
Engine
4.6L v8
Cruise control on this truck will not work. No codes stored in any module. Watched cruise control switch signals come into PCM with Forscan on laptop. All signals are what would be expected to seen in the PCM. No ABS codes or faults. No obvious wiring problems with anything that I would suspect prevent the cruise control from working. I have an alldatadiy subscription and have not been able to find any help besides what I have mentioned. I did install a new set of cruise control switches on the steering wheel because the resume button was sticking. This didn't help. This model does not have a servo for the cruise control. PCM sets speed by operating the electronic throttle. I replaced the throttle position sensor because I was watching the signals from the sensor to the PCM with Forscan and observed the TPS signal momentarily drop to zero and come back at low speed (roughly 20mph). This thing is going to drive me to drink more than I already do. Thanks in advance for your assistance. I have been lurking here for some time and you guys know what you are doing. You don't find that on other sites.

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
This thing is going to drive me to drink more than I already do.
A daily battle for me.

Lurk on, we like that.

Only a few things can go wrong here, and I will do my sherlock holmes here.

So we know you are seeing switches @ PCM, hence we know steering switches are good, and by the fact you are seeing that with forscan on laptop, we also know the clockspring is good. So that leaves three things that can go wrong after that. Either the wiring, the range sensor on trans, or the PCM itself.

So even after a visual check of the wiring does not mean something is not open or short or a corroded pin etc.

Here is a pinpoint test, which you probably already have, but I uploaded it here anyways so you and me can follow at same time.