2007 Ram 3500 Trans Troubles

cw41

Hero Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
455
Likes
1
Points
18
Location
Arizona
#1
Please fill out the following to ask a question.

MAKE:Ram
MODEL:3500
YEAR:2007
MILES:176000
ENGINE:6.7
DESCRIBE ISSUE....While in the woods going about 5mph, started to hear a growl/noise then the slipping started, wouldn't go anywhere. Stranded!! Looked under the truck and no noticable leak but when i opened the hood, tranny fluid is coming out the dipstick tube. I just had the tranny serviced at the dodge dealer about 6 months ago and had no warning or previous codes or issues until a few days ago. Fluid still looks new and red and smells like atf. Any help on this issue is appreciated.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
4,774
Likes
46
Points
48
Age
118
#2
did you scan for codes? even if light off
Will it operate in 2WD ... Trans in R or Low ?

Can you confirm trans is 68RFE?
 
Last edited:

cw41

Hero Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
455
Likes
1
Points
18
Location
Arizona
#3
Yes it picked up a code but i need to get ahold of my son in law. it won't budge in any position. I'll find out if its a 68rfe. thank you kev2
 

cw41

Hero Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
455
Likes
1
Points
18
Location
Arizona
#5
He couldn't remember the exact code he pulled up but it had something to do with 1st and 2nd gear. thanks again
 

cw41

Hero Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
455
Likes
1
Points
18
Location
Arizona
#7
Does that ruin the entire tranny or is it repairable. They told him at the shop he needs a rebuilt unit. Thank you for your time to reply.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
4,774
Likes
46
Points
48
Age
118
#8
we do not know what is wrong with it.
But going with BP's thoughts (input drum) it is a trans removal and then replace with yours rebuilt or a rebuilt unit the big difference is time without vehicle.
I would not even mention custom or special parts* it makes for more confusion.

I love these tutorials a picture = 1000 words

* aftermarket components ie billet. HD etc this is Garys world to advise.
 

cw41

Hero Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
455
Likes
1
Points
18
Location
Arizona
#9
He doesnt want a aftermarket tranny if he needs one I'm assuming Mopar has their own rebuilds for the ram 3500's. they quoted him 6000 for the job. WOW!!
 

bp042665

hunting nut
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
587
Likes
9
Points
18
Location
Iva South Carolina
#10
mopar dont rebuild them they get them out soursed but i have had 1 i couldnt fix and bought 1 with a 3 year warranty for around 3600.00 aftermarket but at my shop we always build what in the truck and i have expeirence many stripped out drums in the diesel just two much torque for the steel shaft and aluminum drum
 

cw41

Hero Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
455
Likes
1
Points
18
Location
Arizona
#11
thank you bp, can you suggest where to get a reliable rebuild? Who nows what the dodge ram dealer gets theirs from?? I've looked a few on ebay and that price of 3600 is about what I've found. If my bro and I remove and install a reman, do you need to program it to the truck? thanks again..
 

bp042665

hunting nut
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
587
Likes
9
Points
18
Location
Iva South Carolina
#12
yes you will need to do a Quick learn to get the new CVI set in the computer i get my transmission from my parts supply company What Ever It Takes Transmission 1 (800) 940 - 0197 they are in the east coast but i can ask the who build them or you can call them and ask. im in south carolina