2007 Ram 3500 Trans Troubles

Discussion in 'Transmission Forum' started by cw41, Jun 23, 2017.

  1. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    Please fill out the following to ask a question.

    MAKE:Ram
    MODEL:3500
    YEAR:2007
    MILES:176000
    ENGINE:6.7
    DESCRIBE ISSUE....While in the woods going about 5mph, started to hear a growl/noise then the slipping started, wouldn't go anywhere. Stranded!! Looked under the truck and no noticable leak but when i opened the hood, tranny fluid is coming out the dipstick tube. I just had the tranny serviced at the dodge dealer about 6 months ago and had no warning or previous codes or issues until a few days ago. Fluid still looks new and red and smells like atf. Any help on this issue is appreciated.
     
  2. kev2

    kev2 wrench

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,680
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    did you scan for codes? even if light off
    Will it operate in 2WD ... Trans in R or Low ?

    Can you confirm trans is 68RFE?
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2017
  3. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes it picked up a code but i need to get ahold of my son in law. it won't budge in any position. I'll find out if its a 68rfe. thank you kev2
     
  4. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes it is a 68RFE. 6 speed auto. thanks
     
  5. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    He couldn't remember the exact code he pulled up but it had something to do with 1st and 2nd gear. thanks again
     
  6. bp042665

    bp042665 hunting nut

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Iva South Carolina
    this transmission has a big issue with the input drum stripping out in the drum
     
  7. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    Does that ruin the entire tranny or is it repairable. They told him at the shop he needs a rebuilt unit. Thank you for your time to reply.
     
  8. kev2

    kev2 wrench

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,680
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    we do not know what is wrong with it.
    But going with BP's thoughts (input drum) it is a trans removal and then replace with yours rebuilt or a rebuilt unit the big difference is time without vehicle.
    I would not even mention custom or special parts* it makes for more confusion.

    I love these tutorials a picture = 1000 words


    * aftermarket components ie billet. HD etc this is Garys world to advise.
     
  9. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    He doesnt want a aftermarket tranny if he needs one I'm assuming Mopar has their own rebuilds for the ram 3500's. they quoted him 6000 for the job. WOW!!
     
  10. bp042665

    bp042665 hunting nut

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Iva South Carolina
    mopar dont rebuild them they get them out soursed but i have had 1 i couldnt fix and bought 1 with a 3 year warranty for around 3600.00 aftermarket but at my shop we always build what in the truck and i have expeirence many stripped out drums in the diesel just two much torque for the steel shaft and aluminum drum
     
  11. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    thank you bp, can you suggest where to get a reliable rebuild? Who nows what the dodge ram dealer gets theirs from?? I've looked a few on ebay and that price of 3600 is about what I've found. If my bro and I remove and install a reman, do you need to program it to the truck? thanks again..
     
  12. bp042665

    bp042665 hunting nut

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Iva South Carolina
    yes you will need to do a Quick learn to get the new CVI set in the computer i get my transmission from my parts supply company What Ever It Takes Transmission 1 (800) 940 - 0197 they are in the east coast but i can ask the who build them or you can call them and ask. im in south carolina
     
  13. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    thank you very much bp, i will pass this on to my son in law.
     
  14. dabunk

    dabunk wrench

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mine Hill, New Jersey
    Home Page:
    Suggest Jasper for yor rebuild. Using them for 30 years and no complaints and a great warranty program if needed.
     
  15. cw41

    cw41 Hero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Arizona
    where is jasper located? thank u
     

Share This Page