F-150 Ecoboost Misfire on Acceleration in Humid Conditions

Vehicle: 2012 Ford F-150 Lariat 4WD Supercrew / Engine: 3.5L GTDI (Ecoboost) / Current Mileage: About 40K (still under powertrain warranty)

I am not a mechanic, just a frustrated owner who is trying to better understand the subject issue in an attempt to have Ford repair it.

A few weeks ago I was 350 miles into 2,300 mile road trip. I had been at highway cruise speed of 70-75 MPH for 3.5 hours since last stop. There had been intermittent light rain the entire way, and current conditions were mist, wet road and spray. Weather records indicate it was 50F and falling, 84% humidity. I accelerated in attempt to make a pass, but the truck started shaking violently and lost speed (this almost caused an accident). I let off and it seemed to run smoothly. I tried to gently accelerate again, but it started shaking again and I saw the check-engine light blinking. I pulled off the road and the CEL went out. After checking some things out I continued on with no further problem and went to a local Ford dealer.

The advisor said I'd experienced the "classic scenario" for condensation in the charge-air-cooler (CAC) causing engine misfires, which could be corrected per TSB 13-8-1. It would take a few days to get parts, but he said the truck was safe to drive so long as I used caution in wet weather. He attempted to print the TSB for me to take to my home dealer, but there was a problem with the system and it would only print the first two pages.

I've been getting extremely poor fuel mileage ever since the incident. Now that I am home, Ford is refusing to make warranty repairs because of a technicality: the DTC's have been cleared. The local advisor explained this was the result of having driven at least "3 drive cycles" since the incident, but he confirmed my truck has the original style CAC that is susceptible to this problem. He referred me to Ford Customer Service to make an appeal, but so far it has been denied.