Poulan p3314

Discussion in 'Small Engines' started by rjh1, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. rjh1

    rjh1 Putting forth an effort to try and help others

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ohio
    poulan p3314 chain saw will start and run on choke only , has new carb and fuel lines and filter .. I have checked bottom end crank seal and resealed with ultra grey , it just won't idle ? did have it idling once but would not rev ? Help Please
     
  2. billr

    billr wrench Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,864
    Likes Received:
    59
    This is a 2-stroke? Have you checked compression? It seems to me a 2-stroke would be very sensitive to blow-by due to a broken piston ring or similar.
     
  3. rjh1

    rjh1 Putting forth an effort to try and help others

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ohio
    compression is fine , i have just a tick under 100 ... i have pulled the muff , and looked inside , and have also went as far as removing piston assy it's fine .. i'm thinking i may have the feed and return lines on wrong ... when it was idling the upper cover was not on just the air cleaner cover , when the upper cover went on it wouldn't even start ?
     
  4. billr

    billr wrench Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,864
    Likes Received:
    59
    100 seems kind of low, but I sure don't know what the spec is for that engine. Have you inspected the reed-valve? Tried running with the cap off the tank? Was that truly a "new" carb, or just a different one? Was the strainer down at the end of the pickup tube in the tank cleaned/changed?
     
  5. rjh1

    rjh1 Putting forth an effort to try and help others

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's all good ! fuel feed line on wrong port also return line back into tank had pin hole ... set carb at 2 turns each fired up runs then adjusted from there Thanks All !
     

Share This Page