Remove spider gears from rear end and broken locking pin 91 chevy k1500

hoader

Hello again
It is an ongoing continuous project on a 91 chevy K1500 truck. I need to change bearings and seals - the pinion is loose. I removed a small locking bolt with an 8mm socket and it was 1/2" long. This is my first time in an automotive differential (have done farm tractors) so no alarms were raised. I could not drive that pin holding the beveled gear out of the housing. Then I noticed the locking bolt was about 1/4" too short to even reach this pin. It is a shallow concave slot across the end of the bolt and does not look like a normal torsion break. Any ideas how to remove the rest of the locking bolt? Do you think there are threads left on the remaining portion of the locking bolt? Has anyone heard of this before? In other words, does it happen once in a while or just to me? :-\
Thank you hoader

billr

wrench
Staff member
Ooh, lots of fun here! Nope, never heard of it, just your luck; but I haven't had to tear into many diffs in my life. Before addressing that broken screw, let me ask about the "pinion" bearing issue. Are you talking about the pinion gear that is driven by the drive-shaft, an engages with the big (about 9" diameter) ring gear? If so, then you need to remove the whole differential carrier unit; and I'm guessing you can't do that because you can't get the axles out because you can't get the spider shaft out. Do I understand correctly so far? For the screw, I would drill a hole in the nubbin left in there and use a screw-extractor (Easy Out, or similar). And, for drilling the screw I would drill through the center of the removed piece, then re-install it and use it as a drill-bushing to avoid damaging the threads in the diff carrier.