Service stabilitrack

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#1
Make
Pontiac
Model
Torrent
Year
2008
Miles
100K
Engine
3.4L
Just rotated the tires...they were corroded onto the rotors and I had to whack the crap out of them to get them off. But that's not the problem.

Now I have a "Service Stabilitrack" indicator on in the IP. Tried turning the stabilitrack on and off. No go. No codes set.

What's my next step?
 

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#2
So here's a question....I have an actron ABS scanner. Would that help me narrow it down to what wheel might be giving me stabilitrak issues?
 

grcauto

Hero Member
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
324
Likes
21
Points
18
#3
So here's a question....I have an actron ABS scanner. Would that help me narrow it down to what wheel might be giving me stabilitrak issues?
Yes...more than likely a speed sensor got messed up. Look at all four wheels together if that scanner will do that. Going down a straight road look at them and see if one is off from the others. It should set a code though.
 

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#4
I also disconnected and reconnected the battery (took out the battery support/box in order to access the upper radiator hose. Could that have anything to do with it? Again, no codes set and everything else electrical seems to be working correctly.

Dang, I hate it when something breaks just when you've completed a repair and are feeling pretty good about yourself. :confused:
 

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#5
Hmmmm.

I did temporarily disconnect the EGR valve connector to pull off the engine cover to access the bleed valve for the cooling system.

Says here that the EGR valve could cause the issue:


There were a couple codes set...but I did disconnect the battery...didn't write them down, but the codes didn't reset after everything was hooked back up.

And yes, I cleared the codes. Lesson learned.
 

grcauto

Hero Member
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
324
Likes
21
Points
18
#6
Sounds like you are good to go. I've learned, only by not doing it, It being.... to write down all codes before removing the battery or pulling fuses etc.
 

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#7
To clarify, no codes stored but the Service Stabilitrak message is still on the IP.

I think I'll drive it around for a couple of ignition cycles and see if it self-corrects as well as trying the Actron ABS scanner.
 

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#8
Started it up, message gone.

I didn't touch the wheels. So...could it have been the EGR unplugging and replugging?

Could someone explain the link between the EGR and StabilitraK? Makes no sense.
 

grcauto

Hero Member
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
324
Likes
21
Points
18
#9
Started it up, message gone.

I didn't touch the wheels. So...could it have been the EGR unplugging and replugging?

Could someone explain the link between the EGR and StabilitraK? Makes no sense.
I can't understand or conceive why EGR would be involved in any way with the stabililtrak system. If the Stabilitrak system used engine vacuum for something....then maybe.....That's the only real effect of EGR is on intake vacuum. It's how the computer can test it's flow. The ECM commands the valve on and expects a certain change in the intake manifold vacuum and if the change is to little you'll get the code for "EGR low flow". Is there any part of that Stabilitrak system that uses or is connected to the intake? I've never seen one.
Where did you find this info an egr causing this?
I went back and watched that video again. It would be nice had he told us the connection between the valve and the Stabilitrak system. If there actually is a problem it may be due to a programming error and they may have a TSB on the problem and if so there should be a flash available.
Try looking for TSB's on this. I can't think of how these two systems would be related.
 
Last edited:

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#10
Where did you find this info an egr causing this?
I googled it and there's a number of posts suggesting some sort of link. My uneducated guess is that it's a software glitch.

In any case, I have to change the plugs and wires soon, and so have to disconnect the EGR to get the plastic engine cover off. If it triggers the Stabilitrak light, I'll post a reply.
 

JP

Hero Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
697
Likes
3
Points
18
#12
Confirmed: At least on my particular vehicle, a 2008 Pontiac Torrent with 3.4l, when you disconnect the EGR while the engine is running, the "Service Stabilitrak" IP notice goes on. No other codes set. If disconnected while the engine is not running, there is no Stabilitrak service light. The IP indicator goes away after a few cycles.

Software glitch. Seems to confirm the youtube video a couple posts back in this thread ('05-'09 models of Equinox and Torrent.
 

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
8,993
Likes
155
Points
63
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
#13
Often, when a pcm code will set. many manufactuers disable the abs and trac.

So by doing what you are doing is not helping to pinpoint this. I highly doubt this is a software glitch. Probably more of an engineered limp in mode from GM. When the pcm gets a flash codes for certain power-train functions, it will disable trac and anitlock etc funtcions as some of them rely on engine parameters to work in unison. Does that in any way make sense, or did I just get this thread wrong. I don't think I responded to this one, so may have read the thread to fast.
 

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
8,993
Likes
155
Points
63
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
#14
awhat most happens when you are doing your testing this way, you are setting false "soft" codes.

The car is trying its hardest to reboot to factory settings and complete a full drive cycle to interrogate if all modules are working together.

Can you give me a quick resume of where you were, and where your at now?
 

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
8,993
Likes
155
Points
63
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
#15
The software glitch is often coming in the form of two modules that can't speak to each other because of can or bus line failure. To find some of these "glitches" you need a manufacturer tool or generic similar. Or some serious labscope skills.