Make
chevy
Model
impala
Year
Miles
Engine
V6
My "high beam out" indicator is on. I pulled the plug on the headlight unit and there's some of that green corrosion found on brass, on both halves of the plug. I put some baking soda and water on it like used to clean battery terminals, and it seemed to work for a couple days, but now the indicator is back on. Is there any spray or "dab on" solvent of any kind that will clean the terminals and let them make good contact again?

Various "electrical contact cleaner" sprays available. Good to follow up with "dielectric grease". Sometimes it is more of a mechanical issue and the sockets can be tweaked for a tighter fit.

Would the contact cleaner be found in an auto store or hardware store? When I worked in the defense industry, we had a spray that would turn the nastiest corroded brass into a shiny show piece, but I can't remember the name of it. I also thought of that stuff they used to advertise on TV (Tarn-X), but can't find any of that either. I looked at the female end ( on the back of the light unit), but the terminals are so small and recessed in the plug, I can't figure out how to tweak them. I'm going to pull the unit out again today, and put it under real bright light to see if I can tweak then terminals a bit.

Some connectors have a "support block" inside that will pop out (if you can figure out how to release it...do you like puzzles?).

1581695808468.png Some cleaners are unkind to plastic, you don't want to "melt" your connector or fuse the two halves together.

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
I use CLR, I find it works best for this type of application. It is cheap, widely available and biodegradable so I guess eco friendly, but I am not a chemist or scientist, I just know it is cheap, widely out there and it works, even my local dollar rama has stock gallore. . Trick is to rinse well, or finish with the soda soluttion to neutralize, which I never really do, cuz I use alot of water when I am done.