GM
Model
LIGHT TRUCK
Year
Miles
N/A
Engine
327 CI GEN 1 SBC
Hello all, I just rebuilt my first auto trans. TH400 out of a '89 light truck. I am 64/yrs old
I am not a driveway mechanic, have been in the auto industry for over 35 years and have built or restored plenty of cars but never an Auto trans.
I had no history on the trans, bought a kit that included new bands - fibre plates etc. New B&M Street converter and deep pan.
Installed behind a Gen 1 SBC 327 with aprox 380hp. Vacuum to modulator at 17#'s, governor was removed, new gear installed and spool valve moves with weights.
I have been unable to get it to shift out of first gear at all, in D or manually. WHERE would you go next??
I do not have the electric downshift solenoid connected as I was told it should not matter?????????
I am kinda anal about cleaning things, everything that came out of that trans got cleaned, polished wire wheeled etc.
ANY input greatly appreciated.
8-5-23 trans pan - dust shield-2.jpgIMG_3857.jpeg

billr

wrench
Staff member
Did you do air-checks on the clutches/bands before putting the VB on? How about line-pressure, has that been checked?

I assume the governor has been put back in, was just removed for inspection and the new gear; correct?

Was the VB opened up at all? Did this trans or VB work correctly before the overhaul?

Old soul Rich

Did you do air-checks on the clutches/bands before putting the VB on? How about line-pressure, has that been checked?

I assume the governor has been put back in, was just removed for inspection and the new gear; correct?

Was the VB opened up at all? Did this trans or VB work correctly before the overhaul?
I did not, I did not know you could do that and waiting for a pressure gauge to arrive as I did not have one that went high enough.