2008 Tahoe LTZ Lift gate

jigfeett

Hero Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
388
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Make
Chevrolet
Model
Tahoe LTZ
Year
2008
Miles
200K
Engine
5.3
Just a quick question,

Will my Autel MS 908 calibrate the lift gate?

What is the procedure to calibrate the automatic liftgate?


I'm working on 2008 Tahoe automatic lift gate.

Some hack N split mechanic did a poor job on it now it's my turn.

The bad.

Motor assembly disassembled in left quarter panel. ( parts missing and laying on floor behind panel).

New motor assembly installed, and found latch with broken plastic gears inside, replacement is on the way.

It looks like the other guy just broke stuff and removed the gear from the motor and broke the connector, good thing new motor came with a complete harness.

The latch probably just broke on its own. ( plastic gears).

Current problem.

I'm not finding enough information about the calibration except to use a Tech 2 but I do not have one.
TECH 2 INSTRUCTION, toggle to lift gate module, select setup, select LGM open/close test, follow on screen prompts.

I have an Autel MS 908 pro and an older 2012 Genisys ( Matco Determinator).

Thank you
 
Last edited:

grcauto

wrench
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,034
Points
48
That will likely need the Tech II. I don't know of aftermarket tools that support that level.
 

jigfeett

Hero Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
388
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Thank you, I'll have to wait because my brother has my Autel but the replacement latch is working with the key fob and the button on the handle. The close button on the lift gate works intermittently.
I have a Launch Torque 3 coming soon.
 

jigfeett

Hero Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
388
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Torque 3 does the lift gate actuation test... But the gate doesn't seem to need a calibration as it is working and not latching any codes for lift gate.
I will be rechecking it next weekend to verify no codes came back.
 
Last edited:

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
12,413
Points
83
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
sorry old buddy late out of the gate wink wink

yeah from my recollection, my autel does it, maybe it depends on your update level.

however, I do want a launch.

Is yours for sale:):D
 

jigfeett

Hero Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
388
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Thank you, that is good information, well the new Launch torque 3 does the lift gate activation and the system is working as designed except there is a little issue with the push button but she just uses the fob so when I can order a new button then that will be a done deal. The rubber for the window release fell apart so that will be replaced at the same time.
 

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
12,413
Points
83
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
since your in there, might as well do the rest in good order.

sidenote, I almost missed the ball on a ac unit in my new place, water level sensor was defective, @ 2 am feet in water, almost had to call insurance. hihi NOT SO MUCH. wife not happy.

Pretty humid up here lately, machine coudnt keep up. Anyway, lesson learned and no real damage done, Hard wood flor did take a hit, cost of level sensor is price of unit, so this is going to curb.

But staying positive is good for me, so I will do some overtime to front a brand new unit. The catch 20 2 was that this was a unit given to us, my girl and I by her sister down in montreal. Now she wants it back. F word comes to mind, you gave us a defective unit and now you want 700$ for it. F that I told my girl, your sister is crazy.

Well, my GF said, go put it in the garage. Another useless thing hanging around. Me slapping my forehead. Useless waste of time

 

billr

wrench
Staff member
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Messages
7,418
Points
63
"wife not happy. "

So which is it now, wife of GF?

Just give the A/C back to her sister, say it "worked same as normal" when you last used it. ("Normal" for it being kind of crappy)
 
Top