Make
Dodge
Model
Grand Caravan
Year
Miles
Engine
Hello community,

I'm a beginner and doing a repair of 62te Chrysler transmission, it's my 3rd transmission I'm working on. The problem was with converter slip code.
I did a vacuum testing of the valve body using Sonnax docs, and not sure if the reading of Solenoid Switch Valve is acceptable - it doesn't provide particular values for 62te. The rest of the readings are within the range.

The plugs area gives me 15" Hg
1717624881758.png

I replaced plugs with Sonnax 92835-02K, but it didn't change anything - still 15" Hg.
But my biggest concert is that Solenoid Switch Valve reading gives me only 10" Hg, but docs don't specify exact threshold value for 62te.

1717624748214.png

I assume it's low, just want to confirm my conclusion. Also I found out there is an oversized valve available, but the tools from Sonnax will cost me around $500 (F-92835-TL32 and VB-FIX). Please, give me a direction what to do next.

billr

wrench
Staff member
I assume the Sonnax test procedure is to apply a specified vacuum pressure at some port and then read what you get at those other places. Are you sure the "applied" vacuum pressure is being maintained during testing?

If you post a link to the Sonnax procedure, so I can study it in full, I will be able to better understand what you are doing.

valshin

I assume the Sonnax test procedure is to apply a specified vacuum pressure at some port and then read what you get at those other places. Are you sure the "applied" vacuum pressure is being maintained during testing?

If you post a link to the Sonnax procedure, so I can study it in full, I will be able to better understand what you are doing.
I build a replica of a Sonnax Vacuum Test Tool using this video. It shows 25" Hg when fully closed and 5" Hg through 0.035" calibration hole.
Testing guide from Sonnax. Measured 10" Hg in the area, shown in the second image of the original post.