F350 diesel service

F

Frank James

What should I look for when shopping for a 1999 to 2002 F350 automatic turbo diesel? What costly maintenance items can I expect and at what mileage do they kick in (i.e. timing belt, injection pump, transmission, turbo, etc)? I was an auto tech years ago and know the basics, I just do not know the particulars for this model. These trucks are often used for construction and are driven hard. Thanks for your help.

Transman

Receptionist & Complaint Dept.
Website
www.edsofvineland.com
Good luck trying to find one in good enough shape to be worthwhile. The people that buy these buggers don't let go of them unless they are getting to expensive (need too much work) to keep. If you can find a good one, sigh, make sure you put in a pressure switch on the fuel line between the transfer pump and injection pump. By the time you find this pump is no longer working it will be too late for the injection pump to survive. The rest is pretty much maintenance, oil changes, fluid changes and pay attention to the filters. Good Luck with the search, Transman

Transman said:
Good luck trying to find one in good enough shape to be worthwhile. The people that buy these buggers don't let go of them unless they are getting to expensive (need too much work) to keep. If you can find a good one, sigh, make sure you put in a pressure switch on the fuel line between the transfer pump and injection pump. By the time you find this pump is no longer working it will be too late for the injection pump to survive. The rest is pretty much maintenance, oil changes, fluid changes and pay attention to the filters. Good Luck with the search, Transman
""make sure you put in a pressure switch on the fuel line between the transfer pump and injection pump. By the time you find this pump is no longer working it will be too late for the injection pump to survive""