old school vs new

I am old school - trans service - drop pan, big mess, remove filter, new gasket refill with the CORRECT fluid.

When I went to chevrolet to get the gasket & filter.... they had to look this up? I'm puzzled So I asked and the discussion went - GM recommends a flush no filter change and therefor no gasket -

I am spring loaded against* recommending a flush the stories of sludge being 'stirred' up etc... SO gang anyone want to get me up to speed on this - good- bad- indifferent ?

*old fart thinking...

bp042665

hunting nut
well i don't recommend a tranny flush with out a filter change the newer transmission come with a reusable pan gasket

billr

wrench
Staff member
Obviously, I am a novice with transmissions; but I am a "drop the pan" guy. Maybe that flush routine is being promoted by dealers to avoid come-back for a pan leak caused by the R & R of that?

jasonn20

These transmission flushes have a higher tendency of becoming a dis-service than removing the pan and replacing the filter.

The sump exam can indicate a healthy trans or not.

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
ok, my $.02, some trannies don't even have filters anymore. Sometimes i have flushed tranys and they still gave out. I have seen sometimes doing a flush or filter change actually killed the damn tranny. To many ppl do not heed reguler maintenance as said in book that is in glove box that came with said car!!!!!!!!!! I am 39yrs old, and a old fart at times, but i find this to be true. :ROFL But I will stand by good old valvoline!! $.02 Unless it is a GM :ROFL

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
@jasonn20, plz educate me, what is a sump exam, or try to find a french term. Will do my own research, interesting term 8)

Sump exam sounds like a painful docter thing with white gloves and he laughs, once had a chinese docter tell me this will hurt you more than me. Walked right out that office so fast :ROFL Never pulled down my shorts :thx