Question for M-B techs about service resets with scan tool (not menu/cluster)

LumpyOne

Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2022
Messages
7
Points
1
Location
Canada
Make
Mercedes-Benz
Model
E300 4Matic Sedan
Year
2017
Miles
?
Engine
2.0
Part of my gig is writing a "my car goes clunk" advice column for a local paper.

A reader wrote in regarding a 2017 Mercedes E300 4M with a broken steering wheel button that prevents performing the service reset through the car's cluster. His question is: can it be reset through other means, such as a scan tool (factory or otherwise)?

He was told that steering wheel replacement was required to get the button (+$$$!); I've confirmed that the switch itself is available from M-B (but still several hundred dollars...).

My Autel scan tool shows "Oil reset" as an option if I manually enter the vehicle, but of course not having the car to plug into, I have no idea if it would actually work. Can anyone here confirm or disprove that it is possible to reset ASSYST PLUS through a scan tool?
 

grcauto

wrench
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,161
Points
48
You are trying to use a scan tool remotely?
Clarification is needed.
 

LumpyOne

Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2022
Messages
7
Points
1
Location
Canada
No, only trying to ascertain if they could have it reset without using the steering wheel controls, either by the dealer or by an independent with an aftermarket tool.

This is entirely so that I can reply to their question in my column, although I'm certainly curious to know the answer for if and when I get a newer Benz in my shop for service. Most of the Mercedes I see are either Sprinters or slightly older than the reader's E Class. Haven't come across the broken button problem in any, yet.
 
Last edited:

grcauto

wrench
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,161
Points
48
No, only trying to ascertain if they could have it reset without using the steering wheel controls, either by the dealer or by an independent with an aftermarket tool.
Sure. Just call and tell them what you need done and they will know if they can do it.
There's something odd about this request. You ask for information you should know.
 

LumpyOne

Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2022
Messages
7
Points
1
Location
Canada
I'm assuming by "just call them", you're talking about the dealer. Pretty unlikely that a service advisor - because that's who I'll end up talking to - will know the answer to that.

Not that I've been sitting on my hands. I've reached out to folks I know at the automaker's PR department, but as this is a technical question (so not really their department), haven't received an answer yet.

As for "information I should know", my workplace is an all-makes, general repair shop, and although we do work on a good amount of European stuff, I wouldn't claim to know it inside and out. But thanks for effectively calling me a dumbass for inquiring about a scenario that isn't all that common (a broken switch preventing the normal reset procedure from being done) on a make I don't deal with daily.

My hope is that someone here that works with Benzes on a regular basis can confirm having used their scanner to do the resets, perhaps while in doing other diagnostic work, or have encountered a similar situation and worked around it. Or tried and failed, as the case may be.

I do not want to publish inaccurate information in the paper. Unprofessional, and not helping our reader, either.
 

grcauto

wrench
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,161
Points
48
Man guy call around to local shops. Especially foreign and European shops in particular.
I had a guy we sent them to that did it. Many remote guys could do it.
 

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
12,499
Points
83
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
I do this all day every day.

At work, we have 3 three autels, plus my own personal one. All can do a MB reset. However, there is a caveat. If one or more resets were not done, you cannot for some strange reason do them all at the same time. Hint wink.

My tool is basic, a 908 pro. Up to date. We also use the elite and two other pro versions, all do service resets all the time.

Since I am french canadian, I am going to assume remote means having to pay a guy to remotely come do that. If so, yes, he can do it if his or her scan tool is up to date and connected to wifi or direct. doesnt matter.
 

LumpyOne

Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2022
Messages
7
Points
1
Location
Canada
Thank you, nickb2, that is exactly what I was looking for. Far more helpful than grcauto - incidentally, grcauto, Mercedes Canada did get back to me and confirm that their tool will do the resets.

I had no intention of trying any kind of remote reset; not sure that's even a thing. My goal here was only to answer a reader's question and let them go somewhere to get it dealt with on their own.

To see if it even existed in my Autel Elite, I manually input the reader's make and model, not sure that option would come up in the menu (and it did). Of course, with no car to plug into, I couldn't try it, and I've had other Mercedes' models - Sprinters - where the tool had the option, but would not do the reset. Maybe what you mentioned about too many missed services, I don't know.

This made me think that the Mercedes tool should definitely be able to do it, but guessing is no good for a newspaper column. Facts or nothing!

Good to know that if I need to do this, I can. The article has been sent in already, but I will see if my editor can update it with your information.

Thanks again!

20220825_135307.jpg
 

grcauto

wrench
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,161
Points
48
I had no intention of trying any kind of remote reset; not sure that's even a thing.
Remote programmers are guys that will come out and do programming at your location. If you call around and talk with shops that can do this you can then ask them what brand of scan tool or pass through devise they use. Call several and you'll likely find several different brands that will do it.
You write these articles yet seem to know very little about the subject.
 

nickb2

Wrench. Diagnostic Tech.
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
12,499
Points
83
Location
St-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
Basically, in the service section of software, once in MB, look for CDS confirmation, and CDS reset.


That is your golden ticket, if not, can still get to CDS stuff via intrument cluster in diag mode.
Hint wink.

With the elite it is even quicker.

Also, don't forget, this is where you also register new batteries key fob etc. You have an amazing capable tool., Have fun and post back.
 

LumpyOne

Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2022
Messages
7
Points
1
Location
Canada
I obviously don't use all of the Autel's capabilities - I had no idea Remote Expert existed, for instance. We do J2534 programming already ourselves, mostly GM, and I have done a few Hyundais and Fords. Haven't needed to do anything else, yet.

Premium-brand European stuff is a relatively small part of our customer base. We have several E90 BMWs, and then just a random mix of everything else, from Audi S3s to Volvo XC90s. Between the number that come in, and always being able to use the car for Mercedes service resets, I've just never tried using the scanner for that. I'll have to explore a bit the next time a have a newer Benz in and a spare moment.

Merci beaucoup, nickb2!
 

LumpyOne

Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2022
Messages
7
Points
1
Location
Canada
grcauto, the whole idea behind BAT - and the WesTech Forums that preceded it - is to be helpful, providing information and suggestions for people who don't have the answers. That's why they're here. That's why I'm here. This is my first interaction with you, and yet even while offering me ideas (call shops, call remote programmers) you have repeatedly been combative and insulting:

"You ask for information you should know."
"Man guy call around to other shops."
"You write these articles yet seem to know very little about the subject."

Does that sound positive? It's definitely not constructive.

I'm posting here because I don't work on Mercedes vehicles regularly, and even less often on those new enough to use ASSYST PLUS. The few I have serviced have all had functioning buttons, and I've had no reason to fire up a scan tool for a basic service reset. All I wanted was confirmation that a M-B tool and/or a third-party tool could perform the reset so that I could pass that information along.

I've been polite to you, yet you repeatedly question both my motives for posting and my knowledge and abilities as a tech. Well, guy, 25 years licensed and full-time working, over 30 in the trade; the last 17 at a 5.0-star Google rated shop. Also 20-plus years of contributing to trade mags and newspaper auto sections. So I might have a clue.

Not sure what I've done to get on your bad side, or if you're just this way with everyone, but you can stuff your condescending attitude where the sun doesn't shine. It doesn't belong here.

And if my pointing that out gets me thrown out of here, so be it. You need to be told.
 

grcauto

wrench
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,161
Points
48
Did you call some Euro shops and see what they use?
That's the only information I can offer and it works well when used.
 
Top