Wow as of 2009 it is illegal to install a required carb-

Alice

Please fill out the following to ask a question.

MAKE: Mazda
MODEL: B3000 SEV6
YEAR
:1998
MILES: 193000
ENGINE
:3.0
DESCRIBE ISSUE....2 of my catalytic converters are showing up on the computer (my check engine light is on) a friend said 2 catalytic converters, when I pulled this up at "Carb Converters" last updated 4/1/16 - it shows me 4. I don't know which two are bad. ( I saw the price of these guys - $440. each probably not including tax and definitely not including labor.)
What should I do? Save the truck or buy another. I deliver pizzas for a living. Fun job, love it. The truck is running well, I've replaced many items and added Lucas recently and stopped the rattling.

NickD

wrench
Been very particular with my vehicles, not only mine, but kids, friends, and relatives in keeping the vehicles in good tune since 1972 when these after the fact emission control devices called the catalytic converter became the law of the land. Never had a cat failure since.

Concept of the IC engine has not changed for the last 125 years, still burning carbon that is highly conductive in shorting out spark plugs, clean or replace them at a maximum of 15,000 miles, and pour in a can of Seafoam in the fuel tank every 5,000 miles. Plugged injectors can also cause a misfire. Introduction of the O2 sensor in the early 80's made this worse. With one misfire, sees extra oxygen, its so stupid thinks the engine is running lean so enriches all the cylinders, truly a self destructive machine. Adding a ton of electronics made it worse, the, more crap you have the more that can go wrong.

If it ain't there, don't have problems with it.